News: The 97th Annual AGM of TSC is on 26 September 2017 at 7pm - ALL WELCOME!                   Online Entry is now open for the 2017 Alpine Energy SC Spring Open - please see Upcoming Events tab for further information! - Fri 30/06/2017


Keep up to date with the latest news and information about activities at Tennis South Canterbury.  Please contact the tennis coordinator at Tennis South Canterbury if you have news items to share.

TSC newsletters will be available to read and download. 


Tennis South Canterbury – Board Vacancies

Organisation Background

Tennis South Canterbury Incorporated is a non-profit regional sporting organisation that fosters and promotes the game of tennis in the South Canterbury region. TSC’s purpose is to enable and promote quality tennis experiences at every level. There are 14 clubs affiliated to Tennis South Canterbury. The tennis community has worked hard over the years to develop and maintain an outstanding facility in central Timaru, the Trust Aoraki Tennis Centre. We are also fortunate to be able to operate from a very sound financial base.

TSC has a staff/contractor structure in place to support the game, but is reliant on a strong volunteer base to assist across the region. The board are currently looking to appoint an experienced chairperson and potentially two other board members to continue its successful journey.

Particular skills/competencies sought

We have recently completed a strategic review of our organisation including our succession planning. We have identified the need for an experienced chairperson with proven governance skills to further enhance board performance. Also experienced board members with HR, contract management or membership growth/management experience in particular.

Commitment required

The board meets monthly, dates/timing are negotiable. Meetings are in the evening and run for no longer than 2 hours with the first ½ hour dedicated to strategic work. The chairperson would work closely with the paid administrator responsible for the day to day running of TSC. Board members may be required to assist with specific projects from time to time.

Geographic considerations

Ideally the board members would live within the South Canterbury region, particularly the chairperson however we are open to interested people who live elsewhere that have the experience and skills we are looking for.


Unpaid. However reasonable out of pocket expenses will be reimbursed.

For more information and enquiries please contact Glenn

2016 T4 Secondary Schools BASH

The 2016 Term 4 SC Secondary Schools BASH competition has now been completed with 24 teams taking part in this Wednesday after-school doubles comp.  Five teams signed up for the competitive grade while 19 teams took part in the social grade.  Each team plays two 30 minute rounds each afternoon and the game scores counts towards their team points.

The competitive grade was won by THBS 1 who won 54 games, second place went to 'Men of Steel' from Mountainview with 39 games and the girls team - Aces from Roncalli finished in third place with 32 games won.

TBHS 2 won the social grade with 54 games from Thomas House 3 with 50 games.  Third equal were Roncalli teams -'Were the Millers'and 'The Shaniquas' who both won 46 games.

The re-vamped doubles competition has proven to be popular with the students.  Thank you to the schools for supporting this opportunity for secondary school tennis.  We hope you all enjoyed the pizza and prize-giving last Wednesday 30 November.  

A new round will start in Term One with entries being called for in the first week school goes back.


Obituary - Ken McEwing

Ken was recently elected a "Life Member" of Tennis South Canterbury which when you consider his involvement in tennis over the last 50 years plus, was long overdue.

 He was a Member of the Wilson Street Baptist Tennis Club

Tennis South Canterbury Committee member 1964 - 78

He served as TSC President 1966 - 68 - 1970

He was the inaugural Junior Advisory Board Chairperson 1972 - 78 very involved with running junior tournaments, teams events etc.

IN 1986 he was the first recipient of the Tennis NZ Administration award in recognition of his outstanding service to tennis.

In 1997 he was appointed to Patron of Tennis South Canterbury.

Finally he was made a Life Member of Tennis South Canterbury at the AGM of Tennis South Canterbury.

It is an impressive list which would never have been achieved without the support of his wife Noelene, who acted as Secretary while Ken was Chairman of the Junior Committee.

It was interesting to note, the formality that was present in the minutes of tennis back in the 60's & 70's as they listed names of who was present and finished with "The Secretary" (no name mentioned).

There were many juniors who were supported in the Slazenger and Howe Shield matches by Ken's enthusiasm.  Ken organised coaching and training for them as during this time there was no such thing as professional tennis coaches in SC.

In Ken's time we had grass courts and by today's standards, very primitive amenities.  The popular Cloverlea Tournaments in January were run from a control room which was a tent prone to blowing down in a nor west winds.  The grass courts had to be marked out with white wash and watered to prevent them drying out. Ken was primarily responsible for seeing that this work was completed which often meant that he did it himself.

Ken was the ultimate volunteer and we at Tennis South Canterbury will always be grateful for his fantastic contribution to tennis.

 Written by Keith Tomsett, co-patron of Tennis South Canterbury