2016 Senior Prize Giving

29 March 2016

The winners from both the 2015/16 SC Open Interclub Competition and the SC Open Closed Championships were acknowledged recently at the Tennis South Canterbury Senior Prize-giving held at the SC Tennis Centre at the conclusion of the Open Interclub competition.

This season nine teams took part in the Open Interclub doubles competition.  Teams were made up of four players and each played three combinations of doubles.  The first round started in October with a full round robin.  Wai-iti 1 team won this and were presented with SC LTA Cup with Hilton-Geraldine 1 team runners up.  The nine teams were then split into two pools.  Pool 1,  the top four teams had a round robin then finished with a knock out competition on Saturday 19 March with the two Wai-iti teams contesting the title. Wai-iti 1 came out the winners. It was a close competition in Pool 2 with Claremont 1 winning the round robin by 1 point from Highfield 2.

James Watt (15) took out the Mens Singles title in a thrilling 3 set match against his coach Kane Newland in the SC Open Closed Championships.  It was nail-biting stuff with the final result 5-7, 6-4, 7-6(4).  Jacqui Robinson showed her experience on court to win the Womens Singles title from young Kate Crawford (12), 6-0, 6-2.  Jacqui then combined with Irene Emond to also win the Womens Double title.

Coach Kane Newland made it a double header winning both the Mens and Mixed Doubles titles combining with his protege’s James Watt in the mens and Kate Crawford in the mixed.  Runners up in the Mens Doubles were Hilton-Geraldine team members Rodney Pangilinan and Roldan Orbase, and in the mixed doubles were Rodney and Jacqui.




Leave a Comment